Bioinformatics skills are indispensable in today's life science projects. SIB supports the Swiss Universities and University hospitals not only through its bioinformatics core resources, but also by embedding bioinformaticians in the various research labs.

There are more and more bioinformaticians physically collocated with researchers in wet labs: so-called “embedded bioinformaticians”. Their presence in the research groups is a real advantage, as they can provide direct guidance on how to design experiments, how to manage and analyse data, and the optimized use of the various bioinformatics tools.

The embedded bioinformaticians can take advantage of the SIB expert network, which they can consult continuously to benefit from state-of-the-art expertise and support in the field.

Apply here to become an SIB embedded bioinformatician.

List of SIB-embedded bioinformaticians:

Embedded bioinformatician Institution Institution Director SIB host group
Lisandra Aguilar Bultet University of Bern Prof. Joachim Frey Dr Laurent Falquet
Erik Lennart Ahrné (sciCORE) University of Basel Dr Alexander Schmidt Prof. Torsten Schwede (sciCORE)
Florence Armand  EPFL   Dr Marc Moniatte Proteomics Core Facility
Bulak Arpat  University of Lausanne  Dr David Gatfield  Dr Mark Ibberson
Emmanuel Beaudoing  University of Lausanne   Dr Keith Harshmann Dr Mark Ibberson
 Sandra Calderon University of Lausanne  Sylvain Pradervand  Dr Mark Ibberson
Gina Cannarozzi  University of Bern  Dr Zerihun Tadele  Dr Mark Ibberson
Yann Christinat Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève Thomas A. McKee Mrs Valérie Barbié
Natacha Civic University of Geneva Dr Mylène Docquier Dr Mark Ibberson
Seydina Diene CHUV Prof. Gilbert Greub Dr Mark Ibberson
Anne-Maud Ferreira University of Lausanne Prof. Alexandre Reymond (CIG) Dr Mauro Delorenzi
Sten Ilmjärv University of Geneva Prof. Karl-Heinz Krause Dr Mark Ibberson
Vidhya Jagannathan University of Bern Prof. Tosso Leeb Dr Mark Ibberson
Abdullah Kahraman University Hospital of Zurich Dr. Martin Zoche Mrs Valérie Barbié
Frédéric Masclaux University of Lausanne Prof. Ian Sanders Dr Mark Ibberson
Edoardo Missiaglia CHUV Prof. Laurence de Leval Dr Mauro Delorenzi
Sylvain Pradervand University of Lausanne Prof. Keith Harshman (GTF) Dr Mark Ibberson
Julien Prados University of Geneva Prof. Alexandre Dayer Dr Mark Ibberson
Vivianne Praz University of Lausanne Prof. Winship Herr Dr Mark Ibberson
Antonio Rausell CHUV Prof. Amalio Telenti Dr Mark Ibberson
Leonor Rib University of Lausanne Prof. Winship Herr Dr Mark Ibberson
Oksana Riba-Grognuz University of Lausanne Prof. Laurent Keller Dr Mark Ibberson
Ana Rodriguez Sanchez-Archidona University of Lausanne Prof. Bernard Thorens Dr Mark Ibberson
Olivier Schaad University of Geneva Prof. Marcos Gonzalez-Gaitan Dr Mauro Delorenzi
Jonathan Sobel University of Lausanne Prof. Romano Regazzi Dr Mark Ibberson
Adam Alexander Thil Smith University of Lausanne Prof. Ana Claudia Marques Dr Mark Ibberson
Gregory Theiler University of Geneva Prof. Tomasz Paszkowski Dr Mark Ibberson
Céline Delucinge Vivier University of Geneva Dr Mylène Docquier Dr Mark Ibberson